About us

Who we are




An introduction from Maggie Elliott, Chair of Cloudesley:



“As Trustees of Cloudesley, we take our role as guardians of this substantial endowment seriously.  We know the power of the legacy left nearly 500 years ago to change the lives of those living in Islington.  In this time, the Charity’s patch has changed enormously, but its Trustees have responded, supporting those in ill-health and poverty, and the local Church of England churches in the spirit of Richard Cloudesley’s will. The need for Cloudesley funds has never been greater, even as Islington has prospered, so the Trustees are committed to continuing the work of the Charity today and far into the future.”



The Trustee of the Charity is Richard Cloudesley Trustee Ltd, a charitable company. The Trustees are directors of the Company. The Board of Trustees consists of up to 15 people and is based on the structure set out in the Charity Commission Scheme of 1980, as amended in 2016:


1 Ex-officio Trustee - The Mayor of the London Borough of Islington


1 Archdeacon’s Trustee - Rev’d Daniel Gerrans


8 Nominated Trustees - people who live, work or have special knowledge of Islington


Nominated by the Council of the London Borough of Islington:


Janet Burgess

Mouna Hamitouche

Tanya Parr

Denise Ward


Nominated by the Islington Deanery Synod


Michael Maunsell 

Seun Olateju

Sam Prabhu Rubandhas

Susan Sorensen 


5 Elected Trustees - people who through living, working or otherwise have special knowledge of Islington.  They are elected by the Board following a public recruitment process


Mary-Therese Barton
Miranda Coates
Maggie Elliott (Chair)
Adam Jenner
Delyth Richards (Vice Chair)






Cloudesley's staff team is based in Resource for London, 356 Holloway Road


* The Grants Manager post is currently vacant *



Melanie Griffiths


Finance Manager 

Phillip Everett


Joanna White